Why Disney customer service should be the guide for your business

 

IMG_0564 Just recently I received a phone call from Disney World letting me know that they had to cancel a dining reservation my family had at one of their restaurants for when we are there later this month. Disney is opening a new land called “Pandora” at Disney’s Animal Kingdom Park and they happen to be closing the park early for press to come in and scope out the new land.

Because Disney needed to switch our reservation, and because it was Disney’s fault we could not dine where we intended, they decided to make it right.

Disney gave each member of my party (myself, wife, 4 year old and 10 month old) a free one day hopper ticket that is good for 20 years. They also decided to make it right they should give each of us a $50 Disney gift card as well. To fix their mistake, Disney gave us back gifts with a value of about $700 just to compensate us for missing a meal.

I didn’t ask Disney to do anything for us. They just did it.

So what does this mean? Well I look at it this way. Instead of my story being about how Disney let me down or how the vacation won’t work exactly as planned, I am now talking about how amazing Disney did for my family. I am now spreading great words about the company and all they did when it could have easily been the opposite since I lost out on a really cool place to dine. Disney went above and beyond expectations. Does your company do this when a mistake it made? How can you start going above and beyond in your business to make the experience unforgettable. An experience positive enough to spread good words about your company? Think about it and put something in to place to be incredible. 

Leave a Reply

